In Kansas, a ‘business entity’ means a general corporation, professional corporation, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, corporate partnership or other legal entity created by law.
Who needs a Certificate of Authorization?
Kansas Statues state if you are going to practice or offer to practice in the state of Kansas a technical profession through a business entity, the business entity needs a KSBTP Certificate of Authorization. The only type of business entity that is not required to have a Certificate of Authorization is that of a sole proprietor.
What are the requirements for a Certificate of Authorization?
Detailed instructions are listed on the first page of the application (available to download below).
A complete application will include the following:
- Completed Application Form
- Non-Refundable Application Fee of $170.00
- Articles of Formation (from the home state of business)
- Kansas Certificate of Good Standing or other document showing registration with the Kansas
Secretary of State
If a business entity determines they will NOT file with the Kansas Secretary of State due to a belief that they are not doing business by Kansas definition, include with the application a letter stating your reason for not filing. This letter should include a detailed description of the business's intended use of a Certificate of Authorization in Kansas. Please review K.S.A. 17-7932 for what activities constitute doing business in Kansas as a foreign entity.
How soon will a Certificate of Authorization be issued?
It takes approximately 2 business days from receipt of the application to the issuance of a certification if the application is complete. An approval letter and wall certificate will be mailed the same day your business's certification is granted.
Who can sign as Responsible Principal for our business?
K.S.A. 74-7036 (1): One or more principals is designated as being in responsible charge for the activities and decisions relating to the practice of such profession and is licensed to practice such profession by the board and is a regular employee of and active participant in the business entity; ...
K.S.A. 74-7003 (n): "Principal" means a person who serves in a business entity as an officer,
member of a board of directors, member of a limited liability company or partner.
K.S.A. 74-7003 (u): "Responsible charge" means the application of personal supervision and
professional judgment, and the incorporation of detailed knowledge with respect to the content of a
technical submission by a licensee when applying the normal standard of care for the work that such licensee is licensed to perform.
Our Board does not define how many hours a "regular employee" must work; They may be full or
part-time to meet the requirement.
Will I be contacted/ When will I be contacted?
If a requirement is missing or found unsatisfactory you will be contacted within 2 business days of the application's receipt via e-mail from our Assistant Director (if no e-mail is provided a letter will be mailed to the business's address). If your application is processed and approved your first contact from KSBTP will be the receipt of your approval letter in the mail.
The KS Secretary of State's Office is asking for a certificate verifying my professional license and company name before I can register with them, where may I request this?
E-mail Sarah.J.Easter@ks.gov with the name of your responsible principal and proposed business name to receive this verification document. There is currently no form available on our website.
Change of Name for Business Entity
To provide information to KSBTP to change the Name for a Business Entity.
Responsible Principal Change
To provide information to KSBTP to change the Responsible Principal for a Business Entity.
Reinstatement for Business Entities
To reinstate a Business Entity after cancellation or voluntary lapse.
The fee for Reinstatement of a Business Entity is $100.
Renewal for Business Entity
Link to the renewal process for a Business Entity.