The Board does not accept electronic signatures or scanned copies of applications. All submissions must have a wet signature to be processed by the Board.
Professional Geologist Licensure by RECIPROCITY
All comity/reciprocity applications must be complete in the Board Office no later than 30 days prior to the next scheduled meeting of the Board. Tentative Board meeting dates are available on this web site under "About Us". The fee for Professional Geologist by Reciprocity application in Kansas is $250.
Fundamental of Geology EXAM
This application is to determine eligibility for the Fundamentals of Geology Examination. The fee for this examination is $170 payable to the Kansas State Board of Technical Professions.
Professional Geology Licensure BY EXAM
This application is to determine eligibility for the Professional Geology Examination. The fee for this examination is $310 payable to the Kansas State Board of Technical Professions.
If your Kansas Professional Geologist license has lapsed or been cancelled, you must complete the Reinstatement Application. The fee is $100.
Return to Practice Application
If your Professional Geologist license has been on Inactive status, you must complete the Return to Practice Application to change your license to Active status. Continuing education is required for Active status.
Emeritus Status Application
A Professional Geologist who chooses this status may not work in Kansas, however they may use their professional title in conjunction with the word "emeritus." No renewal required.
Paper Renewal Form
Application must be completely filled out. Incomplete applications will be returned. Please print, sign, seal and mail along with the fee to the Board. If you want confirmation of renewal, please provide an email address.
Please note: To download applications, Adobe Acrobat Reader for your version of Windows is required. If you do not have this reader, click here and follow directions for installation. After form has downloaded, complete the forms and print.
GEOLOGY EXAM FEES
are payable to the KSBTP office along with a completed application. The Fundamentals of Geology Exam fee is $170. The Practice of Geology Exam fee is $310.
Geology exam candidates will receive official notice with exact location and reporting time from the KSBTP Board office. If you are an exam candidate and do not receive the admittance notice within two weeks of the exam date, contact the Board office at 785-296-8612 or firstname.lastname@example.org
. Posted exam dates and locations are subject to change.
The Professional Geologists Candidate Handbook
is available on the ASBOG website at http://www.asbog.org.
Information: Any applicant who is admitted to an examination and who either does not appear for the exam or who fails the exam, must again pay the fee to take the exam in another exam administration. Kansas law does not provide for refunds of any exam fees.
Exam applicants with a baccalaureate degree from outside the United States must have the degree evaluated. Early deadlines apply. Please contact the Board office for more information.
Requests for a “manual re-grade” or proctored “review” must be submitted in writing to the KSBTP within ten (10) calendar days after the release of the examination results to the candidate. The prescribed fee(s) for a post-examination “manual re-grade” or proctored “review” shall be paid directly to ASBOG® by the candidate and must accompany the written request. Per ASBOG® policy, only one post-examination “manual re-grade” and/or proctored “review” shall be allowed for each candidate per part, per examination administration.
The next EXAM date for the Fundamentals of Geology AND Practice of Geology exams is September 30, 2016. The deadline to submit a completed application packet is July 15, 2016. Applications are now being accepted for those who meet the experience requirement. Apply early for best customer service.
The next renewal window for Professional Geologists is from May 1, 2016 to June 30, 2016 for Professional Geologists whose last name begins with A-L. Continuing Education of 30 PDHs is required at renewal.