Application Forms

All comity/reciprocity applications must be complete in the Board office no later than 30 days prior to the next scheduled meeting of the Board.  Tentative Board meeting dates are available on this web site under "About Us".  The application fee for a Professional Surveyor by Reciprocity in Kansas is $250.

Applicants are required to pass the 2 sections of the KANSAS STATE SPECIFIC EXAM before a license will be issued.  This exam is administered by NCEES on the same dates as the Professional Surveyor Exam.  See application for more information.

Fundamentals of Surveying EXAM Application
This application is to determine eligibility for the Fundamentals of Surveying Examination and Certification as an Intern Surveyor.  There is a fee of $20 for the Intern Certificate due with the application.   Exam fees are paid directly to NCEES.

Beginning January 2, 2014 the Fundamentals of Surveying Exam is administered as a computerized exam.  Details on this exam and the registration process can be found on the NCEES website ( 

You must be approved by the Kansas Board for this exam before registering with NCEES.  There are no application deadlines.  Applications will be reviewed on an ongoing basis.

This application is to determine eligibility for the Professional Surveying Examination.  There is a $60 application/licensing fee due with the application.  Examination fees are paid directly to NCEES.  

Information on the exams can be found on the NCEES web site.

Reinstatement Application
If your Kansas Professional Surveyor license has lapsed or been cancelled, you must complete the Reinstatement Application.  The fee is $100.

Return to Practice Application
If your Professional Surveyor license has been on Retired status, you must complete the Return to Practice Application to change your license to Active status.  Continuing education is required for Active status.

Please note: To download applications, Adobe Acrobat Reader for your version of Windows is required. If you do not have this reader, click here and follow directions for installation. After form has downloaded, complete the forms and print.

Exam Information

SURVEYING EXAM FEES are payable to NCEES.  You MUST be approved by the Kansas Board of Technical Professions BEFORE you register and pay with NCEES.  You may lose any fees paid to NCEES if not approved by KSBTP first.

Exam candidates will receive official notice with exact location and reporting time from NCEES.  If you are an exam candidate and do not receive the admittance notice within two weeks of the exam date, contact NCEES through your NCEES e-mail account or at 864-654-6824 and ask for the Kansas Coordinator.  Posted exam dates and locations are subject to change.

Examination study materials are available through NCEES.  Kansas State Specific exam study materials are available through KSLS (Kansas Society of Land Surveyors).  (See link below.)

Exam RETAKE or NO-SHOW Information:  Any applicant who is admitted to an examination and who either does not appear for the exam or who fails the exam, must again pay the fee to take the exam in another exam administration.  Kansas law does not provide for refunds of any application fees.

Surveyor News Items

EXAM date for the next Professional Surveying Exam and Kansas State Specific Exam is October 24, 2014.  The deadline for applications to KSBTP has passed.  

The deadline for completed applications to be received in the KSBTP office for the April 2015 exam is January 15, 2015.


1:  KSLS Foundation On-Line Minimum Standards Class
2:  KSLS Annual Meeting, Overland Park, KS October 2014.  Minimum Standards Class presented by
     J. Paul Maurin, P.S. 1463.  See KSLS website for more details
3:  KSLS Salina Seminar, January 20145.  Minimum Standards Class presented by
    Jason Johnson, P.S. 1410.  See KSLS website for more details.

Other Links of Interest

Page last updated July 15, 2014